In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

They say, “work hard, dream big.” But does it make sense for children? In many cultures, children are taught to gain their goals by working hard. Despite the fact that there are some drawbacks to such an essential life skill for children, in my personal view, the benefits greatly outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, no one can deny that teaching youngsters how to try hard has a direct impact on success in most fields for their future lives. For example, if a schoolgirl wants to become the first rank among her classmates in mathematics, she needs to try different ways to solve problems. Although at first, this method could be boring for her, she will learn that by following this way, accomplishing a good band score in school can be easier. Another advantage is improving children's creativity. Trying hard enough gives youngsters a chance to explore new ideas when it comes to achieving their aims. Therefore, it broadens their horizons and also closes them another step toward a positive result. On the other hand, advising children that achieving their needs will be resolved through hard work cannot be suitable for everyone. An example to illustrate this point is an untalented student in biology courses who wants to become a medical student at university only because of forcing from her parents. In this situation, putting a lot of time and energy which comes from students can have a reverse conclusion. In other words, instead of becoming a doctor, when she sees that this purpose is not achievable even with a hard-working, she will lose her motivation and also might struggle with mental problems because of this failure. Therefore, they have to be realistic. In conclusion, weighing both sides of the argument, I would say that although working hard cannot be advisable for every child, this advice will help them to find a new way to build their future.