There is a good deal of evidence that increasing car use is contributing to global warming, and having other undesirable effects on people’s health and well-being. What can be done to discourage people from using their cars?

It has been proven that among the many factors that contribute to climate change, the daily use of a car is the prime one. Such a trend also increases the chance of contracting various ailments, yet there are some solutions that governments can consider to help to change this habit. To elaborate, automobiles' contribution to air pollution is one of society's major problems. Due to the emissions caused by modern cars ' exhaust fumes, carbon dioxide is released into the atmosphere faster than ever before. For instance, the rates of fossil fuels burnt by private cars in the last 10-year period are larger than in the past century. Additionally, several respiratory diseases are becoming increasingly common among city residents. In other words, owing to recurrent exposure to a vehicle's emissions, citizens' immune system is rapidly deteriorating which is bringing conditions such as fatigue and asthma to more and more individuals. Without further actions from city leaders far more negative consequences could occur to their well-being. In order to influence people to decrease car use there is a wide range of measures that authorities could consider. First, if more investment were to be assigned to the transportation system citizens would gradually ease utilizing their private cars. For example, networks that greatly expand across the city could entice former drivers to take the bus to commute to work or take their kids to school. Secondly, an increase in the vehicles' registration fee could also work as a deterrent preventing people from acquiring more cars. Having to pay more bills would not only drive city dwellers to use public transportation more often but also think twice before utilizing or purchasing another transport. To conclude, even though there several are drawbacks to the rise of car usage, many options leaders could think of to secure a better future. Not only could they reverse global warming by setting initiatives to further improve public transportation but also higher taxes could make inhabitants more prone to avoiding using their vehicles.