Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

It has been argued zoos should be closed due to their lack of usefulness in modern society. This essay will analyze the problems that zoos have caused and provide some reasonable alternatives if zoos are closed. One problem is that zoos have a negative impact on animals since they inhibit some instinctive features and abilities of them. Generally speaking, most creatures should be familiar with at least one or more skills in order to accommodate the natural environment and make a living. If they are always staying in the zoos and being fed by humans, without practices in the wild, they would lose such skills which can help them obtain food resources and keep them alive. Lions and panthers living in Zoos, For example, have gradually lost their skills in running and capturing other animals as a predator since they can eat fresh meat every day without investing an effort. As a result, animals which have lost their instinctive abilities cannot live without being looked after by humans. However, there is a better alternative and it can tackle the problem zoos cause. In fact, people can establish more natural conservation areas as a replacement for zoos, which can benefit animals in several ways. First of all, these areas are way too much larger than zoos, therefore providing animals with larger places to live and exercise. In fact, animals have to get rid of the control by humans and again earn a living by themselves, which keeps the natural instincts of the animals. Moreover, natural conservation areas would bring about benefits to the environment. Since those places are the home for animals, governments should keep these areas untouched and human activities such as cutting down trees or building plants will be forbidden. Consequently, more plants will grow in the places without human intervention and in turn purify the atmosphere. In conclusion, the problem that zoos have is the effect of changing the natural instincts of animals. If the zoos are closed in the foreseeable future, establishing more conservation areas for these creatures would be an appropriate solution.