Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

English is a widely spoken language and it opens up many opportunities for people. Local dialect, however, stands a risk of slowly dying out. In this essay, the importance and benefits of learning English along with the local language will be discussed along with some suggestions to sustain the local language. English is considered an international language. With the advent of globalization relationship between countries has improved a lot. Having a common language like English removes the barriers to communication. People are able to travel to foreign countries for business or leisure without worries as the vast majority of people can communicate in English. The job opportunities for a person also significantly improve when the person can speak fluently in English.Many study materials and information are usually written in English and knowing the language helps in accessing this information easily. With the increase in the usage of English comes the downfall of the local language. Many children in this generation struggle to speak in their mother tongue. Language is the root of any culture. When a language dies, the culture of that particular community also dies with it. It is in the hands of the public and the government to make sure that this does not happen. Learning language must be made mandatory in schools. Government and community should provide a platform for the development of the local language through cultural shows and competitions. Parents also can contribute by making sure that children speak only the local language at home. To conclude, I agree that both English and the local language should be given equal importance for the development of a person and a country as a whole. This can be achieved by the joint effort of both the public and the government.