Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Distance learning is gaining much more attraction than classroom education during this century. Majority of the universities and colleges are promoting degrees through online classes rather than offline. From my point of view, this trend is having more merits than drawbacks. What could be more beneficial than achieving knowledge from anywhere and anytime across the world? It is evident that the internet has gained exponential popularity all over the world and so does online education. Distance learning helps people gain knowledge irrespective of the place they live. Moreover, it reduces the cost involved in offline learning such as rent, transportation and so on. Another achievement of online learning is that the students could choose the timings which apparently offers them the benefit of flexibility. After all, pupils who thought those few degrees were not their cup of tea could now actually afford them with the help of distance learning. On the other hand, learning courses from a distance have its negative impacts as well. Online learning doesn't support much in enhancing a few skills like teamwork, building communication and the feeling of togetherness. Also, it won't help the children understand the need of helping others and enjoy the value of meeting each other. Thus, like every other, initiative this one is also having its own demerits. Even though distance learning has its own disadvantages, it is obvious that the advantages are way more in supporting the students to achieve their educational goals in life. Hence, online learning should be considered an advanced platform for studies and I stand 100% with this statement.