Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It has been universally acknowledged that children are spending a lot of time on smartphones. This is mainly because of parents ' inadequate attention towards their children and the exciting video games available on mobiles. Although smartphones have many advantages, I firmly believe that it's over usage by children could affect not only their mental and physical health but also cost them their grades. Commencing with the causes which are responsible for its growth. Firstly, working parents with a hectic schedule usually buy their children mobile phones so that they do not disturb them while they work. This gives them the independence to use them as long as they wish and as parents are so busy with their jobs they forget to check on them. Secondly, many game designers are developing exciting and eye-catching games on which juveniles spend hours without noticing the time. For instance, a recent study has shown that children spent about 6 hours out of 24 hours on their gadgets mostly due to the invention of video games in the USA. However, there are many disadvantages. First and foremost, it affects their mental and physical health. If young people spend most of their time on electronic gadgets, they will not get any time to do physical activity. This may result in diseases like obesity and heart problems. It also causes mental disorders such as depression and insomnia. Moreover, the increase in the use of smartphones influences their grades in school as well. To elucidate further, children spent plenty of their time on smartphones instead of studying which results in bad numbers. This may lead to an unsuccessful future. For example,recent research held by an Oxford professor has shown that 75% of children who use mobile phones for hours have more miserable performance in school than those who do not use phones. In conclusion, according to my perspective, overuse of electronic gadgets has a bad impact on their fitness as well as on their education. Therefore, parents should not provide their offspring with smartphones.