Do you think it is better for students to work before their university study? Why?

It is a common practice in western and European countries that students take a gap year before university studies. Some students do travel and leisure activities during this time whereas some others prefer to do jobs. I think it is better to do jobs in this gap year in order to experience a work atmosphere that will help students in selecting their career path. This essay discusses the advantages of working before university studies. Firstly, working prior to university studies helps students to earn money. This money can be utilised for tuition fees and living expenses during university, and therefore they don't need to depend on their parents which gives students self-confidence and satisfaction. For example, Report says that in the year 2017, 75% of Leeds university students earned their tuition fees from the work done during the gap year. Secondly, full-time work helps students to select their career pathways. for instance, during the gap year, some students select to work full-time in a field where they wish to build their career and that helps them to understand the pros and cons of the field. Doing so, students will get a broad picture of the job profile and tasks involved which help them to understand and decide if this job is suitable for them or not. In addition to this, students can experience the corporate work atmosphere and this will be useful for them to learn how to behave in the office and treat other colleagues. To conclude, gaining work experience prior to university is an added advantage for students that will help them to see the career path in a broader way. This will help students to select further courses.