Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effect on the society?

In the modern world, science has fallen behind engineering and business in the eyes of university applicants. There are many reasons for this, such as lower-paying jobs and hard-to-achieve entry requirements. This could lead to a negative effect on society. For example, less research means a decrease in advancements in fields such as medicine, biology, pharmacology, etc. The decrease in the number of science students is caused by jobs with low wages and difficult application criteria for the courses. The latter means that only the best applicants can choose to study a science subject. Students who are able to achieve such grades, however, are more likely to pick a course that is more financially rewarding. Engineering, for example, has lower entrance requirements combined with higher career prospects. Furthermore, business courses are far more rewarding with the easiest entry targets. This will have a negative effect on society. A decrease in the number of graduates in the science fields generally means less work is being done to advance said professions. Advancements in medicine require vast amounts of resources to achieve, the most important of which are brilliant scientists and doctors. Without this, the next breakthrough in the field is highly unlikely. The same can be said for other fields of science such as biology, pharmacology, and others. In conclusion, science subjects have greatly fallen down in terms of student numbers. The cause of this is twofold: difficult entry targets coupled with lower financial reward. The result is a lower number of doctors, pharmacists and other science professionals. This means that the aforementioned fields are less likely to advance in terms of research and achievement.