Many manufactured food and drinks products contain a high level of sugar, causing health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays public debate has been going on over whether the cost of products that contain high amounts of sugar should be increased to motivate people to consume less sugar. Scientists have proved almost a decade ago that sugar is a highly addictive substance. The raised concern is on the right way, but I believe that making products more expensive is the wrong way to deal with society's addiction to sweets and sugary drinks. Firstly, I am afraid that raising the prices of sugared food might harm the country's already fragile economy. Today's inflation caused food costs to skyrocket and if the government or food-producing companies would decide to raise them a bit more, even for health improvement reasons, people would not be happy and the already struggling economy and small businesses that are the core of wealthy financial state, might not be able to take this. Not only this might cause dissatisfaction among the public but a failing economy would raise the number of unemployed and financially unstable citizens. Furthermore, speaking of financially unstable and lower-class workers, they tend to buy products that contain cane sugar, because they are cheaper than products that incorporate healthier sweeteners. So by increasing the price of the cheaper product government would overburden struggling families. This might lead to people overworking and taking loans from banks, which will discommode lower classes and worsen inflation. To sum up, increasing the price of products with a high level of sugar is the wrong way of encouraging people to live healthier. The surge in food costs not only would have a negative impact on the economy and financial state of society but also would burden and anger people of the lower class.