Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think is a positive or a negative development?

Currently, a rising quantity of individuals with different diseases is trying a variety of pseudo therapies rather than evidence-based medicine. Personally, I firmly believe that this type of care should be forbidden and I support the evidence knowledge to pay attention to ill people. These difficult choices could be made in a dramatic situation and based on people’s recommendations. Illness people, who have been suffering for years, are in a delicate situation because they have the desire to get well as soon as possible and it is comprehensible that they try every available treatment. However, they should know that some of these treatments or solutions to their problems could be dangerous for them. For instance, some years ago, a woman decided to stop her medication against cancer and started trying other approaches such as bottles of vitamins, reiki and meditation. In the end, the woman died, not only for the alternative assistance but also for her refusal of hospital treatment. Another consequence of the growth of this type of medicine is the insufficient medical divulgation that exists in the community and in different locations such as universities, schools, residences, or offices. If there were a large divulgation throughout society, many more people would support evidence-based medicine. For example, all the years, at many universities, students receive a CPR course to refresh their previous knowledge about heart attack and what to do in the case of it. If we talked about the benefits of medical attention, the population would not go to prove other alternatives. To conclude, It would be difficult to be ill and could not find a cure to go finally try others possibilities such as pseudo therapies. In addition, society should be more conscious about health care and evidence-based approaches to go to them if they need it.