Nowadays, overeating has become a serious problem for the wealthy nations, a problem which is even greater than hunger to others. Why is this happening? What can be the solution?

It has been universally acknowledged that the problem of overeating is escalating at an alarming rate in rich countries. This essay will first suggest that the biggest reasons are the stress or pressure from various aspects of life and the increasing number of junk food restaurants. Then argue some sensible solution to curb this grave concern. Commencing with the causes which are responsible for its growth. Firstly, the growth of restaurants in developed countries has made people obsessed with processed food. These kinds of food contain artificial flavours and highly sugary products which cause many health problems like obesity and heart diseases. Secondly, many people believe that depression is another reason for overeating. In other words, if people are in tension due to any problem in their life, it influences their eating habits. For instance, in a study from 2010, Princeton University researchers found that employees in a stressful working environment overeat as compared to workers with no pressure. What can be done? In order to solve this serious issue, some measures can be taken. First and foremost, the most effective method is to ban fast food. Although junk food is loved by all people, the government should impose laws to stop people from eating these types of food. Moreover, the authorities should raise public awareness through advertisements to encourage the public to avoid overeating and adopt a healthy lifestyle. For example, a recent study held in Germany has shown that 55% of people stopped overeating and started eating healthy as a result of a public awareness message. In conclusion, after taking everything into consideration, the above-mentioned problems could be solved by the given solutions. If the proposed alternative solutions were to be implemented, the potential problems could be reduced to some extent, even if not totally eliminated.