Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

It is believed by some that doing unpaid community work ought to be considered as a punishment for prisoners in certain cases rather than being sent to jail. In my opinion, I believe that governments can cut their costs through employing offenders in some sectors. This approach can also reduce the negative impacts resulted from being sentenced in to prison. A major reason to have community work for specific offenders is that they can be employed in some state sectors to work as a form of non-custodial sentence. Indeed, criminals serve their sentence by doing a job in their community without any payment while they are not imprisoned. for example, they can work as cleaning staff to clean the streets or collect the garbage. By doing this, not only the government can benefit due to the reduction in budget costs but also financial resources allocated to building prisons are saved. Another point to consider is that by taking criminals to jail they mix with other prisoners, therefore, this can provide an opportunity for minor offenders to educate to serious ones. in other words, those who have become involved in petty crimes can learn major offences when they fall in with the hardened criminals while being in prison. As a result, a serious criminal will be added to the society after being released from prison. therefore, these people are more likely to reoffend crimes and consequently, the crime figures will not decline. In conclusion, I think that community service could benefit the society in many ways. The governments need small workforce and the money which is spent on building prisons is slashed as well. Furthermore, this solution can minimize the effects negatively brought about by imprisoning since the people involved in minor offences do not need to be in prison.