It has become easier and more affordable for people to visit other countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

Going abroad has become increasingly easy for people these days. I believe that this is a very positive trend. Visiting other countries broadens people ’s views, thus enhancing their creativity. As every culture has its own stereotypical views and shortcomings, if people have experience of their own culture, it would restrict their outlook and potential to succeed. By contrast, if they are exposed to other cultures, they could learn new ways to approach tasks and this would encourage them to think outside the box, cultivating their creative thinking. Moreover, travelling abroad facilitates learning about other cultures because tourists can experience rich first-hand exposure, making their experience more interactive and engaging. They can communicate with locals and participate in their events or cultural celebrations, which can leave them with a greater and more in-depth impression of the culture. Although educational programs on TV and in books can also provide information about other countries, this passive way of learning tends to be more tedious for most people than actually experiencing the culture directly. Furthermore, with the increase in tourism, there is an increase in the demand for related services and products such as accommodation, transport and tickets for tourist attractions. This results in more and better employment opportunities, which means that people can find lucrative jobs and therefore earn a higher income, motivating them to purchase more goods and services. Both factors would contribute to economic growth. As discussed above, international travel becoming more accessible has multiple advantages. Therefore, this is a very positive trend.