Governments in many countries are replacing old buildings such as art galleries and town halls with new ones. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In many countries, old buildings such as art galleries and town halls are converted into new structures by the governments. In my view, I consider this would be a negative approach as the local history could be wiped out and some businesses may be affected negatively. On the one hand, historical places are samples of the art and ancient custom of the previous people living in an area. These buildings are also cultural legacies which are inherited from the ancestors. The local artists exhibit the thoughts, ideas and beliefs of the natives through their artworks. traditional architecture used in the construction of these buildings displays the way of living and behavior. This also shaped the culture, and the traditions of the previous people. As a result, demolition of these historical buildings could remove the background of that nation and therefore, younger generations would not be able to identify their identities clearly. For this reason, historical buildings around the world are preserved by the UN organization. They receive funds to be kept secure and immune. On the other hand, old buildings could play a significant role in national economy. In other words, tourists from other countries travel to the places which are culturally rich. They spend money on accommodation, food, transport and purchasing souvenirs. thus, the local businesses will be flourished. This could benefit the local economy. in order to cushion the negative impacts of converting these buildings into newer, they can be repaired to revive them. This can save large amount of money that could be otherwise expended in other essential sectors such as health and education and the economy of that place will not be damaged. To sum up, I think that restroring old structures will benefit the local communities as it will greatly save the financial resources and the economy could be positively affected. This could also preserve the cultural heritages and help the people know their backgrounds.