In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

To be able to maintain sales and stay in the market brands need to grow and this growth usually happens by producing new goods or making slight or enormous changes to their existing products. Furthermore, companies feel the need to tell their customers about these new developments. The following paragraphs of this essay will analyze this phenomenon while contributing my opinion. In many cases, the name of the brand is strongly attached to a specific category of product (for instance, Lays which is known more for its chips than dips) and it is very common that as the brand grows, it has to alter some aspects of its products. However, in many cases, these modifications are significant and could confuse the usual consumers therefore it is essential for brand managers to acknowledge their buyers about the new adjustment. For example, If lays updates the packaging of its chips and doesn't inform the customer, they can not find their favourite chips and might even get frustrated with the brand. On the other hand, there is no need to share every change with the market especially if the modifications are small and insignificant or they are experimental. For instance, Lays could develop a new taste and decides to have an experimental lunch in which they would only sell the new flavoured chips to some parts of the market to see the consumers' reaction to the new taste. In this stage, if the brand introduces this new change to their category of products too soon it might not be well accepted. To sum up, everything that companies do is to ensure the sales of their products and if their actions are not properly communicated through ads the consumers would never know about them. thus, if the message is clear, sharing it would bring positive reactions from brands.