Some people say that zoos have no useful purpose. Others believe that zoos are beneficial in many ways. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that zoos have plenty of advantages, whilst others disagree and think it serves no benefits. Although zoos can be prisoner for animals, I firmly believe that zoos are advantageous as it provides educational knowledge and entertains people. This essay will not only shed light on both perceptions but also my point of view will be elaborated in the conclusion. To begin with, many people believe that zoos have no functional purposes but it is animal cruelty. It is because animals are kept alone in small areas. This affects their mental and physical health. To elucidate further, if animals are isolated in congested area, it results in depression and obesity as they longer hunt for food. For instance, a recent study held by a zoologist has shown that elephants are very sensitive animals and they can die because of loneliness. Therefore, giant elephants are prohibited in zoos in China and in many other countries. On the other hand, zoos play a vital role in entertaining people. It is due to the fact many animals are thought to act funny so that they can entertain children. Moreover, it serves as a place to educate people about animal species and their characteristics. This is because many zoos have tour guides who give visitors in depth information about their habitats and their unique traits. Along with this, people can see animals and even touch them if they are not dangerous. For example, in a study from 2010, Princeton University researchers found that zoos are a great place to increase people's knowledge about different animals. As a consequence, the government are building new zoos. In conclusion, according to my perspective, zoos are very important for people's intellectual development. However, zoos should make sure to keep check on every animal to maintain their fitness and mentally healthy.