In some countries, some school leavers choose to work or travel for a year between finishing secondary school and attending to university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and then give your opinion.

After concluding secondary school, a few school leavers prefer to spend a year travelling or working, before starting their studies at university. This essay discusses the merits and drawbacks of this phenomenon and explains why I believe that the advantages are greater. There are two main benefits of taking a year's break from studies. The first of these is that people might have the opportunity to experience different careers. By doing so, they may discover a profession they want to pursue in the future. For instance, if I had known about an architect's daily routine, I would not have chosen architecture as my major. Furthermore, it will be possible to mature a bit before making an important step in life. This is due to having time to reflect on themselves and their personal relationships. However, there are also drawbacks to this. The most significant is that it can be challenging to go back to studying after the momentum is gone. This is because some people might be already too engaged in work and in need of their salary. For example, I found it difficult to stop working from my full-time job to dedicate most of my time to college because I was financially unstable. In addition, another downside is family pressure. By not having attended university yet, it can be psychologically exhausting when familiars insist on asking repetitive questions related to future studies. In conclusion, I believe there are merits and drawbacks of a year break between secondary school and university. However, overall, I think the advantages of exploring different types of work and having time to personally grow outweigh the disadvantages of sometimes facing difficulties to stop working and possibly having issues with parents' demands. Moreover, I feel that family pressure could be minimized by both parties having a mature conversation about life expectations and plans for the future.