In the past, people ate local food in season. Nowadays, people buy a variety of food from all over the world and any season. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, individuals can taste food from every country for the whole year, but in the past, people have no opportunity to eat food manufactured by other places. As far as I am concerned, I think this trend can bring about more benefits for people compared with the drawbacks it might bring. People can purchase food from other places anytime, which takes massive benefits for them. Firstly, their standard of living can be improved. More food transported from other regions provides them with more sources of nutrients and therefore develops a healthier diet. This is helpful for residents with a limited range of local food in a particular season. Secondly, people, especially the old generation and disabled people have chance to taste other country's food, because their travel actually is tough things, and they are easier to meet some challenges than normal people in their travel time. Therefore, more options for choosing food is a positive thing. What is more, there are some issues when different country's foods become more available. The main one is that traditional food is disappearing. For instance, many consumers prefer to choose multinational brands instead of conventional brands when they purchase an item in the supermarket. As a result, local manufacturers cannot gain the profit to support their companies. Another drawback is that the price of imported foods is much higher, which means that people should pay extra money for these foods. All in all, although this trend of imported foods can bring some disadvantages, I believe that takes more benefits for people.