In some countries, school are open till late so that children can be looked after when parents are at work. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages

In the present day, most families have parents who are full- time workers. In some nations, schools are operating at extended hours so that children can be taken care of when their parents are at work. This essay will explore both, the advantages and the disadvantages of this aspect. To begin with, nowadays parents are mostly occupied with their jobs throughout the day. This is mainly due to the competitive nature of the workplace. In today's world, employees are required to perform extremely well to secure well-paying jobs and promotions. Hence, working parents spend most of their time at work, striving to provide a high standard of life for their children. The main advantage is that schools that operate longer hours are able to cater for the needs of these parents so that their children can be looked after properly by teachers. For example, teachers usually occupy the children's time with beneficial activities such as reading books and playing interactive games. This will give the parents peace of mind so that they can focus on their jobs. On the contrary, there are several disadvantages to children who stay at school till late. Parents have less time to interact with their children and this will affect the mental and emotional health of their children. For instance, research has shown that parental love and care during the early stages of a child's life are very crucial. Therefore, a lack of bonding time between parents and kids can negatively impact their relationships as children are not able to express their feelings well. Furthermore, it also creates a burden for teachers as they are required to work longer hours, hence, they fail to achieve a work -life balance. In conclusion, the extended opening hours of schools have both benefits and drawbacks to society. However, it is an inevitable scenario as parents are required to work longer hours and school is the best place for a child to be looked after.