In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the increasing population, government seek to build new houses. However, because of the myriad infrastructures and buildings in the cities, some people think that the countryside is the only locally available for new houses. But others argued that these spaces should be preserved. In my opinion, I agree with the latter for two main reasons. First, the countryside is the only stress relief for citizens from the congestion of the big cities. People try to be off the beaten track by visiting the mountains and the meadows. However, large green spaces will be removed and replaced by awful buildings which will destroy the scenic view and the picturesque landscapes that the countryside possesses. Furthermore, this will have some negative consequences on the tourism sector, because these days travellers are preferring mountains expeditions rather than historical ones. Second, the pollution rate in the countryside is less than in the big cities. Pollution rates in cities surge in recent years because of gas emissions and the waste of energy by electrical equipment. Therefore, having additional houses in the countryside might duplicate the same problem and contribute to climate change. For instance, most countries such as the United Kingdom and Spain have experienced an increase in the weather temperature that leads to fires in the forests. In conclusion, constructing new homes in the countryside should have advanced planning to preserve the environment and protect the world from the negative consequences of climate change. Moreover, an advanced planning to keep large spaces in cities to build new homes.