In many countries, children show less respect to elders. What are the causes of such behaviour? What can be done to address this situation?

Most people understand the importance of moral values such as being polite and respectful towards the elderly, yet many young adults nowadays show disregard for such values. This essay will discuss why offspring do not behave properly and how they could be encouraged to follow certain principles in their life. The reasons why today’s generation is disrespectful are abundant; one of them is a lack of parental supervision. For individuals working long hours, finding time to spend with their offspring is a challenge. When they have some free time after work or on weekends, many prefer to spend it socialising and simply relaxing. While some populations are too busy to monitor their offspring, others simply do not enjoy correcting flaws in their heir. When, in addition to that there is an immense influence of movies and smartphones, so it is not surprising that the younger generation often uses vulgar language and behaves in an inappropriate manner. From my perspective, three measures may help offspring keep the best behaviour possible. Firstly, they should be encouraged to take advantage of any type of physical activity that is available to them mainly, participating in sports competitions. Another way is that parents resist the temptation to indulge. When children behave indecently, they should be punished appropriately to send a message that such behaviour is not acceptable. People should also watch their younger generation whom they are hanging out with after school and what they are watching on television or mobile phones. To conclude, children are rude for various reasons, including a lack of parental supervision, and the effect of movies and shows. Encouraging them to be more polite and teaching them moral values from a young age can help them mould into decent human beings.