In the past, shopping was regarded as a daily routine task. while in this modern world people take it as a hobby. do you agree or diagree?

In this contemporary world, the way people spend their free time has changed significantly. Therefore, routine tasks like shopping have become a hobby for modern people. I agree with this statement that people go shopping not just because they have to, but due to the fact that they want to spend their free time doing something they enjoy doing. In this essay, I will highlight a few points and provide a conclusion with my point of view. To begin with, modern people do not just go shopping for buying things they need but also to enjoy walking around in shopping malls, doing some window shopping and to kill the time. In addition, It provides them with a source of entertainment. For instance, most shopping malls have kids' sections and food courts inside them, which kids enjoy the most, while their mothers are shopping. Hence, whenever they get bored they go to their favourite malls to feel good. Moreover, these days the average income of a home has increased,unlike the old times, when people used to live hand to mouth and had to shop for only basic necessities. With the better influx of money, people found their entertainment in things they could afford. Therefore, with time people have become better at their finances and their priorities also have changed. To sum up, due to the increased influx of money people have adopted shopping as a hobby. Therefore, they go shopping to spend their free time, contrary to old times when folks used to go to shops to buy their daily household stuff. In my opinion, if one can afford to go shopping and if it makes one happy, then one should definitely do it.