The number of children that read books for fun has dropped dramatically in recent years. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage children to read more ?

Nowadays, parents are more focussed on the leisure activities of their youngsters. They want them to acquire extracurricular attributes along with meeting academic expectations. Previously, reading was a popular hobby, but its rate is declining day by day. This essay will analyze the causes of this phenomenon and will provide some relatable effective approaches to resolve it. To begin with, the most indispensable fact is that technology is becoming an indivisible part of society. This is the main reason behind the decline. Children are spending more time on mobiles, laptops and smart gadgets. For example, recently after the pandemic, research has concluded that the screen timing of young ones has increased by 90%. After online classes also, they are engaged with them and are getting habitual. A possible solution is in the hands of a guardian. They should spend more time with children, sit with them, read books, and create a habit of it. A famous saying is that children are like soft clay, u can mould them in any shape. Likewise,the caretakers should inculcate reading habits in them. Another rationale for this dramatic drop is that multiple online reading materials are available with animations. These sound and visual effects attract the children more. Parents can change the scenario by making them imagine the scenes or enact a play while reading stories. This will not only enhance their creativity but also their imagination power. In conclusion, even though reading is a traditional hobby, its benefits are undeniable. It improves many characteristics of a child such as cognitive and soft skills. This should not be left behind in modern practices.