Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Parents have influence on their children's decisions especially when they are young. However, I think that this level of influence has decreased over the years and now young population are more independent when making decisions. I will explain why I feel this way in the next paragraphs. The first point I would like to make is that now young population are exposed to worldwide data on the Internet. Because of this increased access to information, parents are no longer the only information resource that youth have. For example, in the past without this exposure, parents used to be the main influence on their children’s decisions. Now, when young people have a doubt, they could just search on the Internet about the topic to learn about and see the opinions of different people around the world. The second thought I would like to point out is that globalization and easy ways of transportation have helped young people to change their mindset about life. Let me illustrate this with an example, when my parents were young it was not easy to travel to different countries because ways of transport were not as developed and fast as nowadays. Therefore, they were not exposed to different cultures and backgrounds. On the other hand, my generation can travel further distances and different countries by planes, and trains. To summarize, I agree that nowadays young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives than in the past. As I mentioned before exposure to the Internet and new transportation ways has helped them to acquire and be exposed to different information that they take into consideration when they want to take a decision.