It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good baheviour to children?

At an early stage of age, it is crucial to know the difference between what is good and bad. Some people believe punishing is the key to learning the distinction. However, I can not agree with the statement due to the lack of efficiency and restriction of certain activities that can be allowed in terms of discipline. Raising a child is a tough task for both parents and educators. The sooner they know about good manners, the easier it will be to educate them. Although it is hard to teach such concepts, punishment is not a primary tool, in my opinion. For example, a recent study shows that minors tend to remember the suffering only, not the reason behind it. Therefore, they do not fully understand why they get punished, which makes this type of method not effective as it would be. Thus, I do not believe punishing is not an option when it comes to educating the youth. On the other hand, some kind of punishment can be allowed if certain rules are applied. First of all, any kind of physical violence should not be associated with it. Second, threatening actions that affect their mental health should be prohibited. For this reason, restricting leisure activities to certain times can be allowed. For instance, if younger ones did not do their homework, prohibiting the use of television for a day is fair enough to punish them. In this case, they often realise the reason behind the restriction and fully understand their responsibilities. In conclusion, some think that punishment is necessary for children's development. Nevertheless, I do not agree with those people's beliefs, and I believe the restriction of fun activities can work better way.