Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are always negative and positive sides to deliberately sharing vital knowledge among scientists, entrepreneurs and students. While a couple of population encourages this action, I am totally on the opposing side for the following reasons. First, sharing information can help boost mutual benefits. In fact, we as humans learned to do this at a very early stage of our life. For instance, students gain more solid knowledge by exchanging ideas and discussions of a particular subject with their classmates. The more the classmates join and contribute their thoughts about one subject, the more source of knowledge the student got that enables him or others that work on the same issue to compare and select the appropriate answers. Another example we frequently see in the research field is scientists usually refer to and apply the findings from others in their current experiment which can shorten their early stage of research yet yield promising results. However, in my opinion, companies of the same product lines are commonly seen competing with each other every day to attract more customer’s purchase their own products. If there would be any leakage in key selling features disclosed by one company, another company would certainly incorporate these or even more cutting-edge technology based on the same ideas of the previous company into their product to make it a more competent item. Therefore, the latter enjoys the same or superior sales of the same product. In short, the discussion of ideas provided by agreed parties to work towards the same beneficial achievement is incentivized. However, I completely think it is inappropriate to disclose essential information in a deliberate way when this key piece of data may be a winning point for one business. Furthermore, I believe this is the only way to promote a fair competing business environment for the sustainable growth of one economy.