The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The majority of people think that face-to-face conversations will be replaced by social media, subsequently decreasing the level of communication between people. From my perspective, this tendency has more positive sides than negative, however, the disadvantages should not be neglected too. It can be seen that in many countries people almost stopped using traditional interaction and they more rely on social media and this can be easily explained. Firstly, interacting through social media does not require managing time to meet someone, in other words, if somebody wishes to ask a question he just needs to type directly to a person. There is no need to find a date or time for a meeting because it is much faster to use an app to contact anyone. Secondly, social media are all connected to the world web internet, so people can ignore the distance. For example, an individual who studies a foreign language can make a relationship and improve their speaking by using online apps such as Facebook or Instagram. However, there are some problems that everyone can face due to changes in our interactions. Generally, people are all getting used to talking face-to-face and expressing themselves with emotions. Unfortunately, it is very hard to understand what exact feelings the writer wanted to show through the text. Most likely this happens because we do not see or hear the intonation of the conversation, regardless of the audio message. Moreover, there is a possibility that people will be losing their ability to speak while switching to social media, for instance, children can start making pronunciation mistakes since they have texted more than talk. In conclusion, although there are some considerable backwards to switching to social media, in fact the benefits outweigh them. The weaknesses can be overcome by improving social media applications and making them more similar to live conversations.