Many people, especially young children, watch too much television. Some experts think that this can be dangerous, and that the time would be better spent doing other thing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of watching television?

Nowadays, many types of media are involved in daily life. For example, television, Netflix, and YouTube. Some argue that media can detrimentally impact young children, while others argue the opposite. This essay will examine both sides of the advantages and disadvantages of media. To begin with, watching media in young children has several benefits. Some television programs offer free lessons which teach children how to calculate math. Moreover, children can learn language skills rather than reading a book. For example, some cartoons on Netflix offer exciting plots that encourage young children to watch and provide grammar lessons in the program. In addition, a study published by a Japanese author revealed that young children, at the age above five years old, who watch various media program tends to be more creative than other children. On the other hand, watching media with young children has some drawbacks. Some television programs offer violent scenes that can cause children to become more aggressive. For example, wrestling shows contain much violence, encouraging children to grow up with racism and crime. Furthermore, research published by a psychological doctor in Thailand revealed that young children, aged between 1 to 3 years old, who sit in front of a television or tablet are associated with higher rates of autism. This study analyzed 100 children whose families left them alone with a television or a tablet. About 90 per cent of children have autism. In conclusion, both advantages and disadvantages of media programs appear today. Family is the first wall of protection for their children, and parental advisory while children watch media is the most important, as well as time management of children's activities.