Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, businesses are more concerned about the sales percentage than the customer's health. To increase profit, businesses use sugar as bait since consumers like the sweetness despite the fact that it can lead to many health issues. Therefore increasing the price of sugary foods has become a topic nowadays to avoid consumption. Although I agree with this statement to a certain point, from my perspective, that alone will not be a definitive solution. In this essay, I will discuss further my perspective on this matter. First of all, a sudden increase in value may lead to social chaos since many people will not be able to afford it. Hence, the availability of the same product with different amounts of sugar levels with a hierarchy of prices will be better than just raising the value. At present, I have seen many beverages colour-coded according to the glucose amount included. For example, Redbull has three colour codes according to low, medium and high glucose content. This is a positive trend for a start. There should be an introduction of a new pricing system a low charge for low carbohydrate content and a high charge for high carbohydrate content. That way since the community has a choice, the turmoil from raising the cost will be reduced. Furthermore, social awareness about a healthy diet should be an important topic that needs discussion. In third-world countries like Sri Lanka, non-communicable diseases have become the major factor in increasing death rates. It is mainly due to unhealthy dietary patterns. Thus, education programs should be organized to advise the public regarding the adverse effects of consuming junk foods to gain the maximum for the people. To conclude, increasing the price can have an effect on the consumption of sugary foods, the fundamental fact is that social awareness about healthy diets along with a guided increase of value.