INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY ENABLES MANY PEOPLE TO DO THEIR WORK OUTSIDE THEIR WORKPLACE. DO THE BENEFITS OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

Throughout the years we have been relying our lives on technology and the special information that it provides. But is really this information useful and beneficial? I do think it is, and this essay will navigate through its positive aspects. To start with, it is generally accepted that information technology is positive as thanks to it people can organize their job schedule and therefore save time. This is owing to that, nowadays workers and employers have access to the weather forecast and consequently, they are able to organize outdoor activities or cancel major plans. One clear example of this could be seen in countries such as the United Kingdom or Ireland, in which employers might adapt their job routine to the rainy weather. Another argument to put forward is that information technology serves citizens to be informed about roads' current status. This is due to the fact that certain mobile applications are continuously sending notifications. In consequence, the user could change or cancel their journey depending on their own preferences. For example, the TFL application warns a city bank employer about future delays on trains. In this case, this person could choose and specific route in order to be punctual at their work. To conclude, I do believe that information technology might improve people´s performance at work. Currently, certain information such as weather prediction or transportation status gives citizens the possibility to fit their journeys into these variable circumstances. In my opinion, not only will an individual person obtain benefit from this information but also, the whole society will be rewarded.