To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

In today's world, with an increasing population, some countries need to use insects for their food supplies to support their people, while some people believe using insects as food can have a negative impact on the environment not good for our health, which this essay discusses both positive and negative points. On the one hand, using insects as part of our routine foods can help lots of poor countries to help their residents from starving, because in some countries people can not buy meat or chicken as a result of poverty. Also, insects are a huge resource of proteins which are really good for our body and can be used instead of other types of foods. For example, there are a lot of countries in Africa which have an amazing diversity of insects, which means, people in those areas should learn how to eat and put insects in their food chain. On the other hand, killing insects can damage the environment and the food cycle of nature, because each type of insect will kill the other one which makes the insect's population balance. Secondly, we do not sure if that insect is healthy and does not carry any dangerous viruses with it, therefore, eating insects can be a huge risk to our health. For instance, in Africa, there are some flies which carry abysmal sickness, as a result, if you eat one of those you have to go through several problems. To conclude, the world has to find a way to feed the growing population and one way can be by using insects which can help lots of people from starving and lack of protein, however, consuming insects can hurt our health and damage the eco-system.