some people think that government should spend more money on sports facilities for top athletes.others argue that this money should be spent on sports facilities for ordinary people.discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people are of the view that a nation should fund sports facilities for athletes. Others, in contrast,are of the opinion that funding should be skewed towards sports facilities for everyone. While the former seems soundly argued, I believe that sports amenities will improve the health of individuals and generate revenue for a country. On one hand,money spent on infrastructure and equipment for recognized athletes will enable them to practice adequately for international competitions and win trophies for the state. When a sportsperson has the right equipment to undergo intense training, they are able to fine-tune their sports prowess. Hence they are able to win competitions with ease. This will result in global winnings for the state in terms of sports,which will eventually lead to worldwide recognition. For instance,athletes from Japan are able to win the Olympics each year due to their ultramodern sports training centre. Furthermore,these achievements will lead to the acquisition of trophies which can be displayed as part of a country's attainment. A typical example is the world cup won by the Ghana black stars in 1990. On the other hand,some individuals argue that these sports centres,if invested in will enable people to work out daily to improve their health and also registration fees will serve as a source of internal revenue. Gyms that are fully equipped enhance regular exercise which is a preventive factor for diseases such as hypertension and diabetes.As the saying goes "use the right tool for the right job",weight lifts and skipping robes will help with bodybuilding which will result in a reduction in obesity cases. Additionally, income will be generated from membership fees paid by participants. This will be used in improving other areas of development which will lead to nation-building. For example, Ghana has attained remarkable development ever since it introduced the Elites gym which charges 500 cedis a month for its members. In conclusion,while some people argue that,investing in sports centres for sportsmen and women is a better alternative, I believe that there are benefits such as health promotion and the generation of funds from spending money on sports facilities for people.