One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

Thanks to the development of medicine, people are living longer and longer, thus resulting in a general rise in the average population age: just think about the fact that the oldest person in the world is 113 years old. But is this really a positive change for society?  On the one hand, it cannot be denied that the older people get, the more money states need to spend on pensions and retirement bonuses. Moreover, the cost of healthcare is poignant, especially for the elderly. However, on the other hand, being surrounded by an increasing number of older people allows different generations to share memorable moments and to exchange knowledge and traditions. In the past, it was indeed rare for children to have the privilege to sit on the couch next to their grandparents. Additionally, an improvement in the medical field often results in better diagnoses for illnesses that may affect even the young. For instance, more and more women in their thirties are at risk of breast cancer, but thanks to research and prevention the survival rate has got higher. Furthermore, the development of drugs has helped to make treatments more comfortable for patients and has given a boost to our quality of life. For example, imagine being stuck by a terrible headache and not having an oki to take, or living with chronic pain without anything to reduce it. To sum up, although it is acceptable to think otherwise, in my view, overall, the pros of an uplift in life expectancy outweigh its drawbacks and the new discoveries in the medical world have had a beneficial impact on everyday life.