Time: 40 minutes Write at least 250 words In many countries, shops open for longer hours daily every week. What is the negative or positive effects of this on the shoppers and local community. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since time immemorial, many shoppers have always enjoyed the luxury of having enough time during their shopping experiences. In view of this, there is an ongoing discussion about shops being opened for longer hours as well as the positive and negative effects it has on shoppers and the local community. My essay would take an exhaustive look at the stated points in the paragraphs below while I conclude with my own opinion. To begin with, the luxury of time would be given to shoppers so as to enjoy their shopping experience because shops open for longer hours. Many countries are now enlightened to this which helps with their economic growth and customers are always satisfied as they have enough time to compare and contrast during their purchases. For instance, Dubai, UAE a tourist country always have its malls open during the day and at night because most tourists enjoy shopping at any time of the day and this has skyrocketed their sales as well as their economy in recent times. Undoubtedly, shoppers would enjoy the benefits of shops being open for longer hours. On the other hand, the local community would suffer infringement on privacy as well as unusual traffic in their environment because shops are open for longer hours. In some local communities that are residential, residents are deprived of resting hours due to the noise from these and their roads are always congested with traffic. For example, I stayed in Downtown Dubai for a year and I always experienced traffic during the day and at night because of the shops in the mall. Invariably, local communities are facing several inconveniences because of shops opening longer hours. In a nutshell, there are positive effects for shoppers because they enjoy the luxury of time while shopping and the local communities also suffer from their experiences. However, the onus lies on the government of the country to set rules and regulations in order to create a state of equilibrium for all parties.