Some believe that traffic problems in cities can best be resolved by investing in urban infrastructure while others feel there are superior solutions. Discuss both sides

People have different perspectives on whether traffic issues can be resolved by investing in urban or whether cities have other solutions. Some people think that traffic problems in cities can be improved by developing urban infrastructure, while others believe that cities have other ways to improve them. To begin with, recently many cities around the globe have seen a significant increase in traffic, therefore one way to deal with it is to move traffic from cities to urban areas by improving their infrastructure. People mostly live in areas where they have access to all kinds of facilities and thus cities became the centre of attraction. However, if the same facilities can be provided in different urban towns then people will definitely want to move to those places as no one wants to live in the bustling life of a city. For example, what people need is health, education and work and if these facilities are offered in villages no one would want to stay in big cities. On the other hand, it is thought that cities have a lot more to offer to deal with the rise in traffic congestion. Most of the city's congestion is mainly because of the working class and to tackle this traffic issue government needs to encourage workers to choose public transport as their mode of transport. In addition to it, governments could introduce heavy toll charges to discourage them from using their own transport. For instance, recently Korean government announced free travel to all its workers on working days which resulted in a reduction of traffic by 50%. In conclusion, some people believe that urban infrastructure development is the only solution to deal with the traffic problems, while others think cities have still a lot to offer.