Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is convenient, it has many negative effects and its use for educational purposes should be restricted.

Some people argue that despite its convenience, the internet has had a bad impact and consequently, has to be regulated for educational purposes. As far as I am concerned, I agree with this point of view. In this essay, I will first give the side effects of this resource and secondly, I will give some solutions to cope with issues related to it. To begin with, the internet is the place in which many people with bad intentions proceed. It is universally acknowledged that students may encounter some issues while using it. According to an Australian survey, 35% of students have already experienced serious problems using the internet. In addition, it is commonly known that some information found on the web could be biased and even completely false. When I was a student, it occurred a couple of times that in order to write a report, I had to use some websites as resources. Unfortunately, without double-checking the information provided by them, I reported the wrong information. Though minor, this situation impacted the outcome of my report in a negative way. In order to cope with this issue, people in charge of the national educational program can make some meaningful decisions. Firstly, in order to solve the first issue and make sure that students can rely on the internet without facing any problems, leaders have the possibility to shut down the websites concerned. Secondly, in order to cope with the second issue, the individuals in charge of education can work cooperatively with schools and broader educational organisations in order to warn students about the misinformation on the internet. To sum up, I definitely agree with the fact that the internet should be restricted to protect students from dangerous criminals and misinformation.