Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Few individuals are of the opinion that the best way to be successful in one's field of work is by attending a high school or a higher institution, while the rest are of the idea that getting a job immediately after school is preferable. I believe that it is necessary to go through college as well as obtain a university education for the purpose of acquiring work in a certain field, while primary education can be enough to kick-start one's career where little or no educational background is required. Firstly, in occupations and job positions where high academic skills and knowledge are a requirement, attending a college or university is a necessity. For example in a construction company like Civmec in Western Australia, where the position of a civil engineer is advertised, preference will be given to candidates with Civil engineering university certificates, skills and knowledge rather than someone who has no training in that field. This is because it is believed that the preferred person would have undergone several practicals and tutoring pertaining to the work he or she is applying for. Whereas, someone who has a prospect of seeking a job as an attendant in a grocery store or restaurant, will only need little or no academic knowledge. Therefore a person who has only attended a primary school has a great opportunity in this instance and may as well flourish in this career of choice, which will only require experience on the actual job. Most of this kind of work put workers through training and orientation regardless of their prior skills and knowledge. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people can be successful in their careers whether they study at university, college or just elementary school. It will only depend on the type of occupation or job the person is taking up.