Many criminals continue to commit crimes after being released from prison. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

The topic of the life of lawbreakers after serving their sentences in prison has been mentioned quite often recently. Instead of being a better version of themselves, unfortunately, some re-offend. This essay will address one cause of this issue, as well as provide some solutions that may help to improve this situation. After being released from prison, some criminals state the cause of their reoffence is that they find it hard to re-enter the community, and even become a victim themselves by being unable to find work and getting rejected by society. Having a history of incarceration written in their resume often hinders them to be invited to a job interview, meaning losing a chance to have a proper and decent job. Alongside that, the preconception of the public about a person with a previous conviction, which cannot be changed easily by tomorrow, plays a crucial role as a dispirited factor because it creates a boundary between being afraid of criminals and wanting to help them, with the fear being larger. The more a criminal is discouraged and rejected from society, the higher the possibility that they will commit a crime again. To solve this problem, there are two methods that may help offenders be less likely to re-offend. One of those is a compulsory rehabilitation program post-prison with community service and apprentice courses. By providing services to people in the neighbourhood, wrongdoers may be able to regain the public’s trust, and an apprentice course included in this program will equip them with the necessary skills required for their future employment. Moreover, the government should implement a reward system whenever a good performance is carried out. By doing that, a criminal’s confidence in their ability may be raised, increasing their will to reform properly. Therefore, with the authority’s support, namely a rehabilitation and reward program, offenders will regain their confidence in being able to rejoin society and succeed in reformation. To conclude, the main reason for reoffence post imprisonment is that offenders are rejected by the community owing to the public’s prejudice against them, leading to their loss of confidence and their will of being good again. The government can help them reform and return to society by providing supporting programs like rehabilitation and rewards. With those, the number of re-offenders may decrease significantly.