Better driver education for better driving habits is more effective than heavier punishments for driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Roadside accidents are one of the leading causes of mortality for young adults. For this reason, government intervention is important to keep the roads safe, usually done by punishing reckless drivers and using them as an example to deter others. However, a minority of drivers believe that the solution is better education rather than heavier punishments. In my opinion, I disagree with this and believe punishment is the most effective way of reducing driving offences. Firstly, the majority of offences are committed not because of a lack of education, but rather due to careless behaviour and no respect for others on the road. For example, a reckless teenager driving quickly in an urban area is not because of a lack of education, as he knows this is wrong, but rather a lack of respect and fear. Therefore, better education would be useless in this scenario. Moreover, heavy fines and even a long-term driving ban would make him think twice before committing a similar offence, thus acting as a deterrent. On the flip side, better education could work by teaching new drivers better car control and spatial awareness. For example, Finland has a very tough driving exam, and most Finish drivers go through a gruelling driving course to get their driving license. For this reason, Finish drivers are some of the best in the world. This would mean that they are better equipt to handle a car and less likely to accidentally put others' lives in danger. However, this still does not solve the issue of dangerous drivers exceeding the speed limit, as it only trains them to be faster. In conclusion, better driver training can help reduce some driving offences, but it doesn't deal with the problem directly. Punishment is the best solution as it adds a fear aspect to committing such offences and will likely stop them from doing it. For this reason, I think heavier punishments are the way to go.