Chevening is looking for individuals who have a clear post-study career plan. Please outline your immediate plans upon returning home and your longer term career goals. You may wish to consider how these relate to what the UK government is doing in your country.

Initially, one of the challenges Brazil has been facing in its membership in the OECD refers to the volume of taxes in dispute in relation to the GDP, especially when compared to other member nations. Considering that large corporations are globalized, it is of great value to improve knowledge of tax and international trade law, so as to correctly apply the legislation, respecting international agreements. In this sense, after completing the LLM I am applying for, I will apply the knowledge acquired in the cases in which I will be appointed as a rapporteur, benefiting the members that have signed the agreements, following the guidelines of the related international organizations, and ensuring their rights. This initiative is in line with one of the Federal Revenue of Brazil's strategic objectives which are related to developing internal and external actions aimed at reducing litigation by preventing and reducing the inventory, in quantity and value, and the average time that cases remain in administrative and judicial litigation. Likewise, I will contribute to the improvement of the current litigation framework by assisting Brazil's accession to the OECD in this regard. Secondly, the LLM will be of great value in my medium-term goal which is related to the formulation and analysis of tax and customs policy proposals, which may assist the Federal Revenue of Brazil and the Brazilian government in the negotiations for a double taxation agreement between the UK and Brazil. This agreement was mentioned in the webinar " Brazil -UK relations post-BREXIT", promoted by the Brazilian Association of Business Communication, in which the UK Ambassador to Brazil, Peter Wilson, and the new UK Consul in São Paulo, Jonathan Knott, presented their intentions and goals for the improvement of bilateral relations, especially regarding investments and commercial relations. In addition, in this scenario of an increase in the volume of international commercial and financial transactions, governments have started to demand the presence of representatives of their tax and customs administrations in foreign countries, whose presence has provided the attendance of their demands abroad with more quality and celerity. Currently, Brazil has positions of Attachés in the United States and in the Mercosul states, whose appointment occurs every 4 years. Finally, I strongly believe that the Chevening scholarship, as well as the LLM, will be indispensable in my candidacy to assume an attaché position in 2030. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)