Nowadays, many people prefer to buy famous brand of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The purchase of items from producers with well-known labels has become a popular practice for many individuals. I believe this is as a result of peer influence and heavy advertisements of these products. I also think this is a negative trend because it could lead to people getting involved in crime to get money to buy these materials. There are some reasons why most people like buying branded products. First of all, is the influence of other people on them. By this I mean when people see their friends and peers buying and wearing designer items, they also want to do the same to meet up with the standards set by peer groups. Secondly, is the effect of advertisement on the human mind. Most of these big brands know the effect of advertisement on people and as such, they keep sponsoring television advertisements and radio jingles because they believe the more you see their products, the more you get attracted to them. For instance, most people go after products they gave seen advertised than the ones they never saw. This trend is a negative one because it leads to people engaging in all forms of unhealthy activities to get the funds to buy these items. In other words, buying these popular brands requires more money and because of the desire to get it, many people will go the extra mile and could commit a crime to get such money. Some people will even go shoplifting those items because of the desire to get it. For example, some of the shoplifters that have been caught and interviewed were found mostly stealing designer items. In conclusion, many individuals are buying designer products because of the influence from their age group and the amount of advertisements done by the manufacturers of these products. I believe this is a negative development because it makes people commit crimes.