Some teachers tend to reward students who achieve high academic results, others, however, support and reward students that show the most improvement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Rewarding children is important in a learning environment. Some tutors are of opine that students with outstanding results should be honoured, while others believe that those who have tremendously improved academically should be given an accolade. In my viewpoint, I believe that institution minors should all be rewarded not based on outcome because it tends to motivate them to study more. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view, as well as my thought with examples to portray this context. To begin with, few teachers are of the point of view that honouring the first to third position in a class is better. They believe that this motivated the children to work harder when their efforts are acknowledged. This, most times encourages the other pupils to work harder the next term or school year. To illustrate, according to a recent survey carried out by the Education Management Board, there has been an 80% development in the academic result of students, as a result of, rewarding high scores. It shows that more school minors are studying more, in order to win an award. Hence, this simply shows that awarding children encourages them to study better. On the other hand, other tutors believe that all students are not equal academically, some might have challenges understanding or picking up in class, so, therefore, they should be encouraged when there is an improvement in their school work. For example, according to an assessment carried out by a well-known educationist, Prof. Nze of Madonna High School in 2021, there was a 20% increase in slow-learners results when they were awarded. Students were keener to improve their results when their efforts were rewarded. Thus, this clearly displays that the youth are excited when they are honoured for their little efforts. In my opinion, I believe that all students should be given an accolade no matter their results. This will reduce inferiority in the learning environment so that children will not think that some persons are favoured over others. In addition, students should not be rewarded based on scores but on their level of class participation. In conclusion, this essay discusses both views of how teachers compensate minors; based on the best position or results, as well as, based on high academic progress. I believe that all students should be awarded equally irrespective of their scores. In the next decade, there will be a decline in school performance results, if pupils are rewarded based on high achievements or change. Therefore, I recommend that the mode of awarding should be looked into earlier, so as not to result in low self-esteem in future.