It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In recent times, many students are taking a gap of one year right after they are out of their higher secondary schools. The main benefits of this are sufficient preparation time for the competitive exams and getting admission at the top educational institution, however, the key drawbacks are fear of failure and loss of time and money. Many young boys and girls are opting for a pause of one year after clearing their 12th-grade exams. This is because they think that if they get enough time for preparation, they will be able to crack it with flying colours, and finally get admitted to their dream colleges. For example, every year many teenagers take a year gap to prepare for their medical and engineering exams in my country. So, they get ample time for their studies which would ultimately help them to score their desired numbers to get entry into the Indian Institute of Technology, NITs, All India Medical Sciences, etc. which are the most famous government colleges in India as these require lesser fees and also provide better job opportunities as compared to the private ones. On the other hand, there is also a fear of failure among adolescents which is one of the major issues that is witnessed recently. This might further impact their confidence and productivity. Apart from this, there is also a loss of one year and on top of that, there is no surety whether they would be able to clear it. This further leads to frustration, depression, and wastage of money and time. For instance, many young boys and girls take a break of 12 months immediately after their board exams and join coaching classes and pay huge fees as well. In conclusion, taking a lapse of one year might make the younger generation feel that they would get entry into their dream institution, but, this might not always result in a positive outcome.