Directors and managers of organisations are often older people. Some people say that it is better for younger people to be leaders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The heads of an administration are mostly occupied by aged people. While some would argue that this opportunity should be given to younger. I strongly agree with the first statement because they are experienced people and can make good decisions while on the other side younger are in their learning phase and handling a firm will be hard for them. First of all, for the success of the company, there should be experienced people then only they know how to work fine with their knowledge. They can easily see what is going wrong and what should be done. For example, the head of the Chaudhary group company is Binod Chaudhary who is already in his sixty’s has made his company one of the topmost companies in overall Nepal. Also, Kul man Ghising, the director of Nepal Electricity Authority, with his right decisions has been able to solve the severe power cuts (load-shedding)in Nepal and is also running in his fifties. Therefore, experience plays a vital role and comes only with a long period of work in that particular field. Secondly, letting younger people run the organization will make them jeopardized as if they are just learning it and will not be aware of many things that come around it. This will give them a lot of pressure and a hard time managing it. For an instance, a doctor who has just passed his Bachelor of Medicine, and Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) is less likely chosen for an appointment for a serious disease as it will take them long time to properly diagnose the patient for which patient prefers visiting consultant or PHD doctors as they are highly skilled in identifying the cause through their experience which also helps to save the time of a client. Hence, they are quite immature for handling the top hierarchy position. In conclusion, experienced leaders and good decisions are important remedies for all organizations in order to achieve the desired goals and older people are considered the best to lead for it rather than young ones because their knowledge and skills are less when compared with the old aged.