In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount that people can earn.Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, in some countries, few talented professionals earn extremely high salaries. The reason is that these positions are in-demand in that country and highly sought after by qualified personnel. While proponents of this notion would argue that it is good for the country as a whole, on the other hand, others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount that people earn. In this essay, I would discuss and analyze the salient features of both views and I would draw a reasonable conclusion about the same. Firstly, some of the major high-paying jobs require analytical, problem-solving, and critical thinking skills which entail extensive training and honing these skills in educational institutions as well as several years of experience. In addition to this, it also poses significant threats to the health or even the life of the workers. For example, consider those working on a marine FPSO platform where things could go haywire due to inclement weather or those working as fighter pilots or those working at a nuclear powerplant facility. Moreover, for the many reasons and factors that pose a risk to the professionals, they are rewarded commensurately in terms of their pay. For instance, giving high pay to their staff firms is a way of thanking those involved for their service and integrity at times of crisis. Conversely, on the other hand, there may be many professionals who earn a high commission as well as royalties on some of the construction projects when this money could have been utilized for various benefits of the nation. The government also taxes its citizens based on their salary range to limit the amount that could be earned. For example, the state could influence both public and private companies in deciding the salary range for myriad job roles. As a result of this,the tax could be utilized in providing welfare and healthcare schemes to the public at subsidized rates. In conclusion, in my opinion, although the government could control the salaries of the working class and limit the amount that people earn, earning high pay not only improves the GDP per capita of the country but also contributes to a high happiness index and low crime rates prevalent in the society.