Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people claim that schools should focus on teaching students academic subjects as it is helpful for their career prospects. However, others say that non-academic subjects like music and sports are more essential. Personally, while the former seems reasonable to me, the latter is more convincing. Nowadays, it is readily apparent that companies pay attention to students ’ educational background. One of the salient illustrations of this is that newly graduated students lack experience, so those students who have high grades in high schools or universities have more advantages than those without good degrees. In addition, those academic subjects can help students have technical expertise that make them get high-paid salaries easily and decent jobs. On the other hand, some companies more appreciate students ’ interpersonal skills. Albeit conceding the merits of academic subjects, non-academic subjects have its own benefits and it needs to be more concentrated. Those non-academic subjects like music and art can attribute essential skills that are needed for the entertainment industry, which is a thriving industry nowadays. This industry is a bustling labor market and it will develop strongly in the next decades. In addition, sports - one of non-academic subjects - can help students have necessary interpersonal skills that employers also require, such as teamwork skills and collaborating. In conclusion, I think that although academic subjects seem helpful for students ’ careers, non-academic should be more appreciated because of the mentioned merits. In my opinion, schools should strike a balance between academic and non-academic subjects to help students become fully-developed.