The use of cars and motorcycles causes transportation difficulty in cities. Why do people continue to use cars and motorcycles in the city? What is the best way to solve this problem?

Despite the negative effects that private cars have on cities, such as traffic congestion and environmental damage, the advantages and convenience of using private cars are more pronounced than the disadvantages. Therefore, individuals inevitably choose immediate convenience over the long-term implications of their actions. Firstly, private cars offer convenience and comfort, as passengers can schedule more flexible travel times without being limited by public transportation timetables. Additionally, compared to crowded buses and subways, private cars provide more space and better ventilation, which can reduce the incidence of chronic respiratory diseases. Moreover, private cars can cater to long-distance commuting needs. Nowadays, there are many people who work in the city centre but live in the suburbs, so taking public transportation would be time-consuming and difficult, making private cars the optimal choice. In most cities, traffic congestion occurs during peak commuting times, so convenient working arrangements can greatly alleviate this problem. For example, flexible shift patterns or telecommuting can reduce the pressure of traffic. However, to completely eliminate pollution, public transportation needs to be improved. For instance, subway frequency during peak and off-peak times need to be increased. Long bus routes can also be broken down into shorter pieces, with ends connected in transit hubs so that passengers can transfer easily. In addition to these, ticket incentives can be used to attract more passengers. In conclusion, commuters choose private cars to address their pressing needs, but to solve traffic problems, the public transportation system must be improved to lure more riders.