In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Due to advancing technologies, a growing number of people in modern society can finish their work remotely with the use of technological gadgets like laptops and cell phones. This essay will analyse the merits and drawbacks of this trend. On the one hand, working from home has many benefits, since it allows greater efficiency and higher productivity. To begin with, such development allows workers to save their hours of commuting. Generally speaking, workers staying at their home nowadays can conduct a meeting with others via the internet, which eliminates the need for them to go to their offices and gather in one conference room. In addition, with high-tech equipment, white collars at home alone can work in a quiet environment without interruption from their colleagues and deal with multiple tasks at the same time. For example, they can use applications on their smartphone to attend online meetings while preparing documents on their laptop. In this way, they would have better productivity due to the decent environment and helpful facilities. That being said, the disadvantage of working at home is also obvious. Managers of companies would find it difficult to manage and supervise their employees, which would have an adverse effect on companies. We cannot deny that some people would slack off without the supervision of others while managers cannot ensure their subordinates at home are fully focusing on their work. For instance, employees would sleep or play electronic games at home during working hours, yet their leaders are not able to realise such facts via online-based tools or phone callings. As a result, it is possible that workers fail to finish their work on time or provide their work with adequate quality due to their poor performance at home. In conclusion, It is true that if employees are allowed to work from home, some of the lazy ones would be harmful to their companies without supervision. However, the benefits that working remotely brings to workers, including improving efficiency and productivity, are more significant.