Some people believe that it is good to share as much as information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important to be shared freely? Discuss these views and give your opinion.

Although many argue that it is benefical for companies in various sectors to provide unrestricted access to their data, I agree with the assumption that business-related secrets should not be distributed publicly because this may result in the company’s underperformance due to a loss of advantage. On the one hand, those advocate for spreading as much information as possible believe that this openness promotes trust, enthusiasm, and collaboration on the work. They contend that open innovation allows businesses to seek external resources, including advice, perspectives, and collective intelligence, which helps accelerate project progress. For example, the partnership between Toyota and Tesla in the early stages of electronic vehicle development enabled both manufacturers to exchange knowledge and expertise, which helped foster the innovation and the adoption of self-drving cars in automotive industry. On the other hand, it is more reasonable to claim that some research should be restricted to the public, as current market is more cutthroat than every before, and the idea of sharing information can cost businesses a competitive position. Similarly, if a startup happens to leak private data, its competitors can replicate, exploit, and make a profit out of its product. For instance, big agencies in food and beverage industry, namely Coca-Cola and KFC, tend to impose strict regulations to protect their recipes such as limiting the number of employees knowing the formula, or implementing tight access controls. Consequently, I agree with the view of protecting research for the aforementioned reason. In conclusion, while some insist that informational transparency is crucial in many domains, I think it is vital that a company maintain its trade secrets for the benefit of its success and development.