Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastics do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

In the amidst of world fighting against different environmental issues, plastic waste is one of the most discussed issues which needs some solution. The resulting problems caused due to plastic will be discussed with some suggestions to resolve it in further paragraphs. Plastic is a very difficult material to decompose and takes years to self-decompose while it causes harm to nature in different ways. As it is available in market at a cheaper rate and is easily accessible, people consume it daily for their smallest tasks like purchasing grocery, to carry things from one place to another and more. After usage, people throw it carelessly which at times is eaten by cows mistakenly, thereby affecting their health. Or is found thrown near water bodies which not only pollutes water but also releases harmful chemicals putting the life of marine animals at jeopardy. If this plastic is burnt, the harmful gases adversely affect the ozone layer, causing global warming. This alarming problem can be addressed only when the government join hands with its citizens to find solutions. Making some stringent rules to curb the usage of plastic is the first step towards awareness which can be taken at policy making level. Secondly, the seriousness of this problem should be explained to people in a creative manner so that can encourage them to stop the usage. Government should encourage innovative solutions from the youth as well as support their projects. People can contribute by advertently using the substitute of plastic like using paper bags to carry grocery. Social media is one of the most powerful tool in today’s time to promote as well as encourage others by sharing videos n pictures of themselves using beautiful paper bags over plastic. In conclusion, though it is difficult to completely cease the usage of plastic, with the right steps and right choice, we can at least reduce the pollution caused due to it. A responsible citizen and the country can protect the mother earth with their vigilant efforts.